Hot Yoga

Today was also the first day I tried out hot yoga. & HOOOLLLLLYYYYYY HELLLLLL……

I definitely enjoyed it and I didn’t think it was too bad for being a beginner and having no experience in yoga. It’s hotter than hell in that room though, since it’s summer and it’s already humid out the room gets hotter than normal so I believe it was around 100 degrees inside. I recently found a groupon for Hot Yoga in Edwardsville which is right in my area so I went ahead and bought it and redeemed it today since it was FINALLY raining and cooled off a little bit.

But let me tell you this, I HAVE NEVER in my entire life sweated this much from ANYTHING. Not even from running cross country in the summer time, NOTHING. I had sweat pouring into my eyes, running down my face, my shirt, shorts, underwear, hair were soaked in sweat. The class lasts an hour and a half in length and I had to stop 3-4 times and just hold namaste? pose for a few breaths, but overall I thoroughly enjoyed it and plan on going back this week when I can fit it in. I am not flexible at all so I’m hoping to achieve more flexibility and blood flow, overall improving my flexibility and helping me build more muscle and rid my body of toxins. 

Mainly I had trouble relaxing my lower back and didn’t feel a lot of stretching there, but more so in my hamstrings and calves whenever we did positions that were supposed to be stretching the lower back. Let me tell you, I am wound as tight as a string doll. YIKES but I feel better overall after drinking some juice and getting out of the stuffy room. 

So if you’re looking for something to help you sweat, help with flexibility and build your stabilizer muscles; give hot yoga a try.

Also anyone with any tips for hot yoga, hit me with them! Thanks!

5 Comments

  1. I have never done hot yoga, because I’m not a huge fan of being overly hot (go figure I moved to Arizona!) I’ve always been really interested in it though! That’s awesome that you had a good experience. I also have a lot of tightness in my lower back and it’s not an area that I can stretch too easily. I hope you enjoy continuing to learn about yoga! I love it!

    Like

    • I plan on sticking it out for awhile, I’ve never been the most flexible, the only thing that sucks for me is trying to work it in between or before class or work, the time frames hardly ever add up, but they are having more classes now that they’re moving to their fall schedule so hopefully I will be able to go a few times a week! I don’t like being overly hot either, but this was actually ok, I didn’t feel like I was going to pass out or anything, it was just a constant heat.

      Like

Leave a Reply

